Sunday, December 4, 2011

Anusaya Yamaka

The Pāḷi Canon falls into three general categories, called piṭaka (basket) in Pāḷi. Because of this, the canon is traditionally known as the Tipiṭaka (three baskets).

The three piṭakas are as follows:
1. Vinaya Piṭaka, dealing with rules for monks and nuns
2. Sutta Piṭaka, discourses, mostly ascribed to the Buddha, but some to disciples
3. Abhidhamma Piṭaka, variously described as philosophy, psychology, metaphysics etc.

The Abhidhamma Piṭaka is the last of the three piṭakas, constituting the
Pāḷi Canon, the scriptures of Theravāda Buddhism. It presents a more formal, abstract, systematic form of teaching than the others.

The Abhidhamma Piṭaka consists of seven books.
1. Dhammasaṅgaṇī (Classification of Dhamma)
2. Vibhaṅga (Analysis or Division)
3. Dhātukathā (Discussion of Elements)
4. Puggalapaññatti (Descriptions of Individuals)
5. Kathāvatthu (Points of Controversy)
6. Yamaka (The Book of Pair)
7. Paṭṭhāna (The Book of Causal Relation)

For the 6th book of Abhidhamma Piṭaka, which is Yamaka, there are ten chapters.

They are:
1. Mūla Yamaka (Pairs on Roots),
2. Khandha Yamaka (Pairs on Aggregates), [March 2008 in Penang, Malaysia]
3. Āyatana Yamaka (Pairs on Bases),
4. Dhātu Yamaka (Pairs on Elements),
5. Sacca Yamaka (Pairs on Truths), [November 2008 in Sagaing Hill, Myanmar]
6. Saṅkhāra Yamaka (Pairs on Conditioned Things),
7. Anusaya Yamaka (Pairs on Latent Dispositions),
[November 2010 in Sagaing Hill, Myanmar]
8. Citta Yamaka (Pairs on Consciousness), [November 2010 in Sagaing Hill, Myanmar]
9. Dhamma Yamaka (Pairs on Phenomena),
10. Indriya Yamaka (Pairs on Controlling Faculties).

Anusaya Yamaka is the 7th Chapter of the Yamaka book.